TheLoneRider
a seeker in search of Easter Eggs

Cebu
Yoga classes in Cebu


Country > Philippines > Cebu > Cebu City
Date > 2022 > Dec
Activity > Traveling | Lucid Thoughts

Traveling Lucid Thoughts



2022: A Year in Review Dec 31, 2022

2022: A Year in Review

Location Google Map: Cebu City, Philippines

Summary
At the end of 2022, I was all set to leave Thailand and venture out. That didn't happen until October when Thai Immigration stopped issuing out Covid 19 visa extensions - 10 months later. But it finally happened - after 4 years in Thailand, I'm out. I always say that it's good to put the intentions out there, but don't obsess. It will eventually happen...or not. I have full faith and trust that my benevolent universe will do what's right for me when the time is right.

Here in Cebu, Philippines, my benevolent universe again assured me of its presence by paving the way for me. Abundance is here and life is relatively easy with promises looming on the horizon.

Human Factor

The year started out with lingering feelings that remained after that cancel-culture attack on me by 'woke' friends who abandoned critical thinking and formed a bee hive. It was a rude awakening for me on what human nature is...not to be a cynic but simply to be aware of human dynamics. I've since become mindful of the people I allow into my sacred sphere. Anyone who nurses an unresolved life-trauma, who has a mental imbalance or emotional disturbance, I keep out of this sphere.

Peoplescape

Many people have passed through my revolving door (as I have passed through theirs). Some have come and gone, and some are here to stay, regardless where I end up.

Mike

Mikey ChongMike Singapore
As a former enforcer for the Chinese Triad in Singapore, Mike is one 'badass mutha' you don't mess around with. He is tough as nails. Consider yourself warned. But to those he likes, they'd feel safest around him. It doesn't matter that I'm no longer in Chiang Mai. Mike will always loom large for me. When shit hit the fan, when friends turned against me over a malicious lie, he was there for me - staunch and unwavering. He was always there for me. We continue to keep in touch...Christmas, birthdays, etc. I'll always be there for him too.

Mike Chong
at the train station, Mike seeing me off

Mike blogs:
  1. 2022: A Year in Review Dec 31, 2022
  2. Chiang Mai Peoplescape Oct 10, 2022
  3. Chiang Mai Peoplescape Jul 31, 2022
  4. April 2022 in a Nugget Apr 30, 2022
  5. Feb 2022 in a Nugget Feb 28, 2022
  6. 2021: A Year In Review Dec 31, 2021
  7. Chiang Mai Peoplescape Aug 31, 2021
  8. Continuing Friendships in Chiang Mai Jun 30, 2021
  9. On the Brink of Hunger, the ENABLERS Come to Light Jun 21, 2021
  10. Morphing Peoplescape of Chiang Mai May 31, 2021
  11. Coffeemates, Breadmates and Yogamates in Chiang Mai Jan-Mar 2021
  12. 2020: A Year In Review Dec 31, 2020
  13. Shifting Peoplescape Of Chiang Mai July 2020
  14. 2019: A Year in Review Dec 31, 2019
  15. Peoplescape of Chiang Mai Jan 24-Mar24, 2019
  16. Resuming Life in Chiang Mai Jan 24, 2019
  17. Overnight in Pai with Mike Jan 1, 2019
  18. 2018: A Year In Review Dec 31, 2018
  19. Peoplescape of Chiang Mai Dec 12, 2018 - Jan 1, 2019
  20. Mike Chong Aug 8, 2018
  21. Kneaded and Pampered at Zira Spa Aug 4, 2018
  22. Savoring a Baht 3,500 Birds Nest Soup at Natural Bird Nest by Burapa Aug 3, 2018
  23. Chiang Mai's Amazing Peoplescape Apr 9-23, 2016


Mikko

Michael PatoMikko Pato Philippines
Hostel Seven Cebu Hostel Seven Cebu
I've said a lot already about Mikko even though I'm only getting to know him during this brief visit. But the more I hang out with him, the more I appreciate him. Loved by many, envied by a few, ladies are impressed by him and guys just wanna buy him beer. He looms bigger than life...at least in the context of Cebu. He is an amalgamation of James Bond (suave, debonair, a lady's man and a man's man), Warren Buffett (for being generous, bordering on magnanimous), Lionel Messi (an all-around athlete...marathon, cycling, football ) and Anthony Bourdain (although eclipsed by his athleticism, he is competent in the kitchen). He plays hard, lives hard and pushes the boundaries while disarming you with his charm.

On a personal level, I would rank him on my top 3 of people I hold dear to me...because they all went beyond the call of money to make life easier for me. I don't forget kindness and I find ways to say 'thank you'...but in my currency as I don't have money.

Mikko Pato
Mikko showing me how Pochero is done

Mikko blogs:
  1. 2022: A Year in Review Dec 31, 2022
  2. Cebu City Peoplescape Dec 4, 2022
  3. 5 Nights in Cebu City at Hostel Seven Cebu Sep 2-7, 2017


Kris

Kristijonas KlimaitisKris Lithuania
At 26, he's a man on a rush - on a rush to make his millions, on a rush to be enlightened, and on rush to save the world. Full of idealism, he is focused, driven and kinetic. He is always full of ideas he's willing to share and equally full of questions he wants answers to.

I didn't realize that I haven't seen him since April. But we communicate not a lot, but consistently over long passages on Messenger. He defers to me (amongst many) for my views and opinion. He is one of many who shifted my thinking that even though my insight is mundane to me, it could be powerful and compelling for other seekers.

Kris Quotes

  1. We need a serious group of highly self-realised individuals who can join the ranks: Jeff Logan, Andrew Tate, yourself and Me! The coolest fucking gang on the planet to save the world.
  2. Maybe I’m Jesus
  3. If you're serious about the Lamborghini, I think you can get it quick (1-2-3 years). I know how.
  4. I’m 100% sure you can be rich. Not 99%. If you would like to get that relatively fast (up to 3y), let me know.
Mike Chong
downing some coldies at Boy Blues Bar with Kris

Kris blogs:
  1. 2022: A Year in Review Dec 31, 2022
  2. Peoplescape Mar 31, 2022
  3. Pizza Nite with Kevin, Jamie and Kris Mar 10, 2022
  4. Pizza Nite with Kris, Simona and Mary Feb 15, 2022
  5. ABS Fitness Challenge Jan 16 - Apr 16, 2022
  6. Welcoming the New Year Jan 31, 2022


Simona

simona_andorfiSimona Germany
I haven't seen Simona since I left Chiang Mai, but every once in a while, we still keep in touch. She was a friend who wasn't swayed by the bee hive that swarmed against me. She stood her ground while maintaining her peace with everyone else. She's been a part of my Pizza Nites, Moka Coffee gathering, yoga and just plain chillouts.

Mike Chong

Simona blogs:
  1. 2022: A Year in Review Dec 31, 2022
  2. Chiang Mai Peoplescape Oct 10, 2022
  3. Pizza Nite with Kris, Simona and Mary Feb 15, 2022
  4. Welcoming the New Year Jan 31, 2022
  5. Pizza Nite with Simona and Lisa Dec 28, 2021
  6. Pizza Nite with Nut, Simona and Malee Sep 23, 2021
  7. Chiang Mai Peoplescape Aug 31, 2021
  8. Pizza Brunch with the Yogis July 1, 2021
  9. Continuing Friendships in Chiang Mai Jun 30, 2021


Tom & Chunyah

Tom and Chunyah Tom USA & Chunyah Thailand
What lovely couple! I met Tom early on when he arrived in Chiang Mai...attended his yoga class as he attended mine. I was there during the early days when he and Chunyah got together. As a couple, they attended my Pizza Nites, ice baths, yoga and Moka Coffee gatherings. I was there on Tom's 2 Muay Thai fights (which he both won). One day, I'm sure to see them again, that time with their bundle of joy, Gaewalyn.

Tom and Chunyah
at My Moka Coffee with Tom and Chunyah

Tom blogs:
  1. 2022: A Year in Review Dec 31, 2022
  2. Chiang Mai Peoplescape Oct 10, 2022
  3. Yoga Nidra with Chunyah and Tom Aug 18, 2022
  4. Chiang Mai Peoplescape Jul 31, 2022
  5. Tom Maher's Muay Thai Fight Apr 8, 2022
  6. Pizza Nite with Tom, Chunyah and Goi Aug 20, 2021
  7. Morphing Peoplescape of Chiang Mai May 31, 2021


Chunyah blogs:
  1. 2022: A Year in Review Dec 31, 2022
  2. Chiang Mai Peoplescape Oct 10, 2022
  3. Yoga Nidra with Chunyah and Tom Aug 18, 2022
  4. Chiang Mai Peoplescape Jul 31, 2022
  5. Pizza Nite with Tom, Chunyah and Goi Aug 20, 2021


Marky

Marky MaligmatMarky Philippines
Marky is one of Cebu's saving grace for me. We got to know each other almost by default (since no one showed up at the Theosophical Soceity meeting except him and me, so we ended up talking). Unassuming, mostly silent but always alert and observing, Marky is reliable and gets things done. He's solid. I've always thought that if I were a man of means, I would like to have a 'Gigit' (in the same way that men of means*** are happy to have me within their orbit even if it's just my presence). Marky comes closest to that.

Marky Maligmat
Marky with Wolf at Hostel 7 Cebu

men of means*** already have an uncanny ability to make money - but they're short of people who can be trusted, can make things happen and reliable. But since they have means, it makes no difference to them if I benefit from their largese without realizing their ROI.

Blogs about Marky
  1. 2022: A Year in Review Dec 31, 2022
  2. Cebu City Peoplescape Dec 4, 2022


Personal Guru

To learn more about people who have broken boundaries in their pursuit of perfection, I made efforts to view podcasts of renegade thinkers wether it be spiritual, life-hack or neo-science. This gave me a sense of a personal guru...the best of the best, without having to seek audience for it. They're not accessible to me anyway, and if they are, I probably cannot affort them. My gratitude to Joe Rogan, Jiddu Krishnamurti, Moran Cerf, and Donald Hoffman for sharing their wisdom and life experience.

Covid-19

The pressure was high in getting jabbed. It was a roller coaster ride - things would ease up and normalcy would inch its way back in, then a new variant, Omicron, appeared from nowhere and slammed the door to normalcy. 3rd shots were required. Believers were polarized against the conspiracy-theorists. Families were divided. Frienships were tested. It was a disruptive time. Society was fragmented. Opinions were best kept inside or it might add gasoline to a raging fire. Everything was volatile. The year ended quiet despite the Monkey Pox variant. Travel restrictions were eased. Covid-19 visa extensions were no longer given so in October, I had to leave Thailand and start life from scratch in the Philippines.

Kitchen Un-Confidential

I continued my kitchen adventure as a culinary alchemist with my Pumpkin Tahini, Carrot Cake, Coconut Bread and Coconut Pancake. Even though I didn't have a stove in Chiang Mai, I had 2 fully functioning industrial ovens. It's a little different now in Cebu where I only have access to a water kettle for my Vietnamese coffee.



2022: A Year in Review
enjoying my cup of hot sikwate (native cocoa drink) at Moalboal's public market
Yoga and Fitness

In keeping with my fitness program, I resurrected the ABS-Fitness Challenge.

Music Scene

Now that I'm back in the Philippines, I miss Chiang Mai's the music scene where weekly Blues music is just there for the taking - Boy Blues Bar, My Secret Cafe, Northgate Jazz Coop, My Bar, Paapu House, etc. Despite Cebu being the Queen City of the South and the 2nd biggest city in the Philippines, Blues music is a rarity. Cebuanos are great musicians, there is no question about that, but Blues is not on the radar. Besides, live music is not cheap here.

Ending Thoughts

--- Gigit (TheLoneRider)
YOGA by Gigit Yoga by Gigit | Learn English Learn English | Travel like a Nomad Nomad Travel Buddy | Donation Bank Donation Bank for TheLoneRider



Leave a comment?


Reader Comments:

Kristijonas KlimaitisKris Lithuania
(Dec 26, 2022) I wanted to keep this for the end of the year, but I'll express it right now — this year I'm very grateful having met you. Thank you for sharing your thoughts, wisdom and the blog entries. It's a huge blessing for me and I cherish our friendship a lot!

As of your blog, reading it sometimes feels like having cheat codes for life 🙂 Because you already thought deeply about many topics that I'm trying to figure out and in many ways I know which direction to go / what resources to learn from.

Of course, it's just for orientation, I still need to do the work / embody the learnings. But just pointing me in the right direction I think already saved me some years of needless suffering for me (or at at least I think that way).

Ok I'm not gonna make this into an essay lol so I'll just stop right here. Again, thanksss!! 🙏

Year-End Review Blogs:

More on Cebu City:

About Cebu City
  • Cebu City is the 2nd biggest city in the Philippine (next to Manila) - and it continues to build and expand. Traffic is getting bad. Decentralization is being developed with the SM Super Mall in the SRP south and the suburban towns in the north.
  • Boat from the airport to the city center - even without traffic, it takes about 4 rides to reach the city. But with Cebu's increasing traffic congestion, it has become a nightmare. Instead of taking the land route, take the water route - no traffic, fresher air and cheaper. From the airport, take the yellow multi-cab straight to the river port and take the ferry (there's only one destination) to the city. Take the 02B jeep and get off at UC near Jones - you're now on the city's main artery.
  • given its size and increasing congestion, Cebu really needs a mass railway system - something that is conspicuously lacking, but no one seems to complain about
  • Cebu is bursting at the seams on the yoga scene. There are about 20 yoga centers in the city - from yoga studios to gyms offering yoga and hotels jumping on the bandwagon
  • a trendy and safe place in Cebu where you can chillout for coffee and enjoy good eats would be at the Ayala Mall
  • there are other pocket-areas for trendy hangouts - Banila Town Center, Crossroads, Escario Plaza, La Vie, etc.
  • the tourist area where most of the budget hotels and restaurants are, are located within the Mango area, although it has a seedy belly feel. Kids may swarm on you pretending to be begging, but they could be picking your pocket or your backpack pockets - be careful
  • many pick-pockets in the Colon area - be careful
Cebu City Google Map

Google Map Cebu City, Philippines

tourist attractions in Cebu City tourist attractions
  • Tops in Cebu City Tops - hilltop offering panoramic view of the city
  • Taoist Temple in Cebu City Taoist Temple - temple on a hillslope in Lahug with panoramic view of the city
hotels in Cebu City hotel
  • Hostel Seven Cebu - newly opened, resto/bar, central location, solo/group travellers
    Juana Osmeña Street, Cebu City
  • S Hotel Cebu S Hotel & Residences - new hotel, luxury rooms, central location
    827 M. Velez corner Andres Abellana St.
cafes in Cebu City resto / cafe / bar
  • Fujinoya Fujinoya - new and refreshing twists to Western style desserts using Japanese techniques
    Wilson St., Lahug, Cebu City - tel. 888.6075
  • Bad Boys Wingz Bad Boys Wingz - Buffalo Wings, unique versions of sauces! Great service, accommodating staff, bad boys vibe
    Kasambagan, Cebu City | (032) 415 4811
yoga in Cebu City yoga
  • Love Yoga World Love Yoga World - yoga studio
    11/fl, Skyrise 2 Tower, IT Park, Lahug, Cebu City
  • Yoga Now Yoga Now - first Yoga and Wellness studio in Mactan offering daily Yoga Classes
    at The Yacht Club Mactan
mountain biking in Cebu City mountain biking
  • Cebu Mountain Bike Adventure Cebu Mountain Bike Adventure - MTB tours, bike sales and repairs. Bed and Breakfast + Resto Cafe + wifi
    1298-b V.Rama Ave, Guadalupe, Cebu City | 0942.959.7451
Cebu City to Camotes Island

Cebu City to Camotes Islands

  1. via Poro - from Pier One in Cebu City, take the Ocean Jet for Poro, 2 hours, daily trip - 6am and 3pm (0936.823.8762 |0956.270.6610 | 0999.889.9999).
  2. via Consuelo - from Cebu City, take the northbound bus passing through Danao and get off at the Danao Port. At the Port, take a Jomalia Shipping boat for Consuelo (San Francisco, Camotes), P220/pax, a/c, 2 hours, daily trip - 5:30am, 7:00am (special trip), 8:30am, 12:00 noon (express), 2:30pm, 5:30pm and 9:00pm (express, Fri/Sat/Sun only).

Camotes Islands to Cebu City

  1. Poro - Cebu City (fastest and most direct) - go to Poro and take the 8am or 5pm Ocean Jet to Pier One in Cebu City, P380/pax/aircon, 2 hours
  2. Consuelo - Danao - Cebu City - go to Consuelo (San Francisco) and take the Jomalia Shipping boat to Danao, P220/pax, a/c, 2 hours, daily trip - 5:30am, 7:00am (special trip), 8:30am, 12:00 noon (express), 2:30pm, 5:30pm and 9:00pm (express, Fri/Sat/Sun only). From Danao, take the Ceres Bus to Cebu City
Cebu City to Dumaguete

Cebu City to Dumaguete by Boat

  1. George and Peter Lines - Mon/Thur/Sat/Sun 10pm, (035)225.4337, 0922.557.1023
  2. Oceanjet - via Tagbilaran, daily 6am, dumticketing@oceanjet.net, 0918.898.2188
  3. Cokaliong - Mon/Tue/Wed/Thur/Fri/Sat 7pm, Sun 12pm, 6 hours, (035)225.3599

Cebu City to Dumaguete via Liloan (bus, boat, jeep, tricycle)

  1. Cebu City South Terminal - take the southbound Ceres bus to Liloan, P200, 5 hours
  2. Liloan - the bus drops you off at the Liloan Port where you board the Fastcraft to Sibulan, Negros Oriental, P62, 30 mins
  3. Sibulan - at the Sibulan Port, the jeeps wait for Fastcraft passengers to take them to the public market in Dumaguete, P12, 30 mins.
  4. Public Market - at the market, you can take any tricycle to your hotel, P8 for short trips
Cebu City to Tagbilaran, Bohol

Cebu City to Tagbilaran, Bohol

  1. Weesam Express - Pier 4, departs 9:00 AM, 2:00 PM, 6:30 PM, 2 hours
    one way: Economy (aircon) P500.00, Economy (non-aircon) P400.00, First Class P600.00
    round trip promo (at least 2 days advance booking): Economy (aircon) P600, Economy(non-aircon) P500, First Class P1200
    round trip promo (1 day or on the day booking): Economy (aircon) P800, Economy (non-aircon) P700, First Class P1200
  2. Ocean Jet - Pier 1, departs 6-7-8-9:20-10:40-11:40AM, 1-2-4:20-6:35PM, 2 hours
    Open Air / Tourist Class P800, Business Class P1000
    +63 932 8734 885 / +63 922 8572 300
  3. SuperCat (2GO) - Pier 1, departs 08:15-13:30-15:10-18:00-19:40
    P 500.00
    +63 32 233 7000
  4. Lite Ferries - Pier 1, departs daily 12:30pm, 10:00pm and 1:00pm (Mon, Wed, Sat)
    Standard (Lying) Php 150, Tourist (Lying Aircon) Php 340
    +63 977.822.5483 / +63 998.999.5483 / +63 925.347.5483 / (032)255-1721 to 26 / (032)414-9001 to 03
    info@liteferries.com.ph / www.liteferry.com
Cebu City to Siquijor, via Tagbilaran

Cebu City to Siquijor, via Tagbilaran

  1. Lite Ferries - Pier 1, departs M/W/SAT at 1:00pm, economy Php 649 (through barkota.com), layover in Tagbilaran 6:30pm-8:00pm, arrives Larena Port, Siquijor at 11:00pm
    +63 977.822.5483 / +63 998.999.5483 / +63 925.347.5483 / (032)255-1721 to 26 / (032)414-9001 to 03
    info@liteferries.com / www.liteferry.com
  2. Ocean Jet - Pier 1, departs daily at 1pm, 5 hours
    Open Air P1600
    +63 932 8734 885 / +63 922 8572 300

More on Cebu Province:

Suggested Destinations in Cebu
  1. Camotes Islands - caves, beaches
  2. Cebu City - rich in culture and history, 2nd largest city in the Philippines
  3. Moalboal - amazing coral reef system, sardine bowl, deep drop-off for freediving
  4. Oslob - Butanding (whale shark) watching
  5. Bantayan Island - long stretch of fine white sand beach, Virgin Island for snorkeling
  6. Malapascua Island - divers' paradise for seeing the rare Thresher Shark
  7. Cantabaco Cave - Toledo
  8. Barile Waterfalls - Barile
  9. Whale Shark Tour - Oslob
  10. Carcar - chicharon and lechon in public market
Currency Converter
Currency Converter

»» back to Traveling
»» back to Homepage

ARCHIVE: 2023 | JAN |

1970 | 1973 | 1975 | 1976 | 1979 | 1981 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018 | 2019 | 2020 | 2021 | 2022 | 2023 | ALL BLOGS